In my previous post I asked how we can begin to question the underlying assumptions that are pervasive in our society, recognizing that these forces contribute to the inequality between women and men. Recently, my friend send me a video that tries to bring attention to how much consumerism has dominated our society. The consumer culture that has developed is pervasive in our society, your life becomes the objects and things you possess rather than who you actually are. Emphasis on this fake empire removes us from our true nature. Emphasis on the material has ramifications for gender equality, as placing importance on material and physical differences allows inequality to persist (as previously discussed).

I hope this video inspires you to question and be aware.

Check out the video from Ryan Lewis below:

